Help Center
Follow

Showing or Hiding Full Needs

One benefit of your Connect platform is that needs and shifts can have capacities--that is, a set number of volunteer spots available. Once the max number of volunteers have responded and a need's capacity has been reached, one of several things can happen, depending on your site's settings:

These settings are available in the Needs section of the main settings (Settings > Main Settings) on your site manager panel. Each of these scenarios and their settings are described in greater detail in the following sections. Note that a setting applies to all needs on your site; for example, you cannot select to hide some full needs and show others.

Note: Needs with a duration of "ongoing" cannot have capacities. Capacity is an option only for runs until, happens on, and shift needs. To learn more about posting needs, click here.

Hiding Full Needs

If your site includes a number of currently full needs, you may want to hide those needs from view so that volunteers can more easily find the needs with open volunteer spots.

To ensure that full needs are not available for public view:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Settings > Main Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Needs area and select No from the Show Full Needs dropdown.
    dropdown_show_full_needs.png
  3. Click Update Settings.

Once a need meets its volunteer capacity, it will no longer appear in the volunteer view. If a volunteer unregisters and the need once again has available spots, volunteers will again be able to view and respond to it.

Showing Full Needs - No Waitlist

Site managers often prefer to show all needs, even if those needs are full. Within the "show full needs" setting you have the option of providing a waitlist feature for volunteers who are interested. See below for instructions on showing full needs without the waitlist option.

Note: The Connect program default is to show full needs without a waitlist option.  Click here to learn more about using a waitlist.

To show full needs without the waitlist option:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Settings > Main Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Needs area and select Yes from the Show Full Needs dropdown.
  3. Click Update Settings.

With this setting, need card for a full need shows up in the volunteer view as having zero volunteer spots remaining:

need_card_zero_slots.png

If a volunteer clicks on the need, the response area will indicate that the need is full.

button_full.png

While the volunteer can still share the need to social media, they cannot click the button to respond.

Showing Full Needs - Waitlist Option

To show full needs and include a waitlist option:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Settings > Main Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Needs area and select Yes, and enable a waitlist when full from the Show Full Needs dropdown.
  3. Click Update Settings.

With this setting, need card for a full need indicates that there are zero spots remaining, but the need-information page displays a waitlist button rather than unclickable Full button shown above.

button_waitlist.png

When a volunteer clicks the Waitlist button, several things happen:

  • The button changes to Leave Waitlist, which the volunteer can click to be taken off the waitlist.
  • The volunteer gets a message (via email and in-app messaging) letting them know that they've been added to the waitlist.
  • The volunteer appears in the Waitlist table available to site managers. To access it, go to Volunteerism > Needs, select the need, and scroll down. The table is near the bottom of the need page. You can export this list as needed.

If a spot opens up (either by someone unregistering from the need, or a manager adding spots), everyone on the waitlist will be notified. Newly available spots are filled on a first-come, first-served basis.

To learn more about how the waitlist works, click here.

Note: Waitlists are available for volunteer needs only. They are not available for events.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk