Help Center
Follow

Managing Needs in Bulk

From your site manager panel, you can use a couple of clicks to make the following types of changes to multiple needs at once:

In addition, you can remove needs from user groups and initiatives as needed.

You can make these changes by (1) selecting the needs and (2) using the Actions for Selected Needs dropdown in the needs-management area of your site manager panel.

This article walks you through the steps for performing bulk actions on the needs on your site. It also explains how the features described here can be used for sites that share data using the Galaxy Link.

Making Needs Public or Private

Rather watch the video for this? Click here!

When creating or editing a single need, you can individually mark it as private or public on the need form. If you want to make multiple needs private or public at once, however, you do this by selecting the needs and directing your Connect platform to change the privacy setting for all of them:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs.
  2.  Click the boxes to the left of the needs whose public/private status you wish to change. (Click image for a larger view.)
    Table_checked_boxes_public_needs.pngIn the above example, the site manager has selected three public disaster-response needs.

    Note: Private needs have a "lock" icon, as shown with the "Student Liaison" need above. Public needs do not have a "lock" icon.

  3. From the Actions for Selected Needs dropdown near the top of the page, select Make Public or Make Private as applicable. (Click image for a larger view.)
    dropdown_actions_make_private.pngIn this example, the site manager is selecting to make the disaster-response needs private.
  4. Click the red button that appears below the Actions line.
    button_make_needs_private.png
    Because the site manager is making needs private in this example, the button reads Make Needs Private. If they had selected to make the needs public, the wording on the button would reflect that action.
  5. Once the privacy status of the selected needs has been changed, it will be reflected by a "lock" icon (or the lack of one) for each changed need in the table of needs. In this example, the disaster-response needs now have the "lock" icon to indicate that they've been made private.
    table_lock_icons.png

Assigning Needs to a User Group

Rather watch the video for this? Click here!

When editing a single need, you can assign it to one or more user groups. If you want to assign multiple needs to a user group at once, however, you can do this by selecting the needs and directing your Connect platform to assign it to a user group that you select. You also have the option of making a need private and assigning them to a user group--all in a single step!

Assigning Needs to a User Group

To assign needs in bulk to a user group:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs.
  2. Click the boxes to the left of the needs that you wish to assign to a user group.
  3. From the Actions for Selected Needs dropdown, select Assign or Remove User Group.
    dropdown_actions_assign_remove_user_group.png
  4. From the dropdown that appears, select a user group.
    dropdown_user_groups.png
  5. Click Update User Groups.

Once a need has been assigned a user group, the user group will appear in the User Groups column of the needs table. If that column isn't visible, use the table filter to show or hide columns.

Making Needs Private and Assigning Them to User Groups

If you want to assign a need privately, you can use the steps described previously for making a need private and assigning it to a user group, or you can take both steps at once using the Make Private and Assign to User Group option.

To assign needs privately to a group:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs.
  2. Click the boxes to the left of the needs that you wish to assign to a user group.
  3. From the Actions for Selected Needs dropdown, select Make Private and Assign to User Group.
  4. Select the user group.
  5. Click the Make Private and Assign to User Group button.

All needs that are both private and assigned to a user group will appear as such in the needs table, with the privacy indicated by a "lock" icon and the user group listed in the User Group column. (Click image for a larger view.)

table_private_assigned_to_user_groups.png

Adding Needs to Initiatives

Rather watch the video for this? Click here!

When adding or editing a single need, you can assign it to an initiative. If you want to assign multiple needs to an initiative at once, however, you can do this by selecting the needs and directing your Connect platform to assign it to an initiative that you select.

To assign multiple needs to an initiative:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs.
  2. Click the boxes to the left of the needs that you wish to assign to an initiative.
  3. From the Actions for Selected Needs dropdown, select Assign or Remove User Initiative and select an initiative from the dropdown that appears.
  4. Click Update Initiative.

All needs that are assigned to an initiative will appear as such in the needs table, as shown in this example, where some needs have been added to the Disaster Response Needs initiative. (Click image for a larger view.)

table_initiative.png

Removing Needs from a User Group or Initiative

If you want to remove a need from a user group or an initiative, you can do so individually or in bulk. Below are the instructions for doing this in bulk.

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs.
  2. Click the boxes to the left of the needs that you wish to remove from an initiative or user group.
  3. From the Actions for Selected Needs dropdown, select Assign or Remove User Group or Assign or Remove Initiative as applicable.
  4. Select the Remove from ... option from the first dropdown that appears. In this example, the site manager is selecting to remove a need from a user group.
    dropdown_remove.png
    From the second dropdown list, select the applicable user group if removing a user group.

    Note: Because a need can only be assigned to one initiative, there is no option to select an initiative to be removed.

Your changes will be reflected in the table of needs, as described previously.

Using This Feature with Shared Sites (Galaxy Link)

If needs are shared to your site via the Galaxy Link, the following features will not work for needs that do not originate on your site:

  • Making needs public or private - You can change the privacy status of needs that originate on your site, but you cannot override the privacy status of needs that are shared from another site.
  • Assigning or removing initiatives - You can assign and remove initiatives from your site's needs, but you cannot add or remove initiatives for needs that are shared from another site.

The Add or Remove User Groups feature works for all needs, regardless of whether they originated on your site or are shared from another site. 

Related Articles

See these articles that go over other features of managing needs, initiatives, and user groups.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk