Help Center
Follow

Managing Needs

This article is for Site Managers of Get Connected, Campus Connect, Corporate Connect, and Community Connect sites. If you are an agency manager, please refer to Volunteer Needs, which covers how an agency manager would post and manage needs for an agency's page.

Needs are volunteer opportunities. Your site is designed so that agencies enter needs and volunteers respond to them.

From the manager panel, a site manager can perform various needs-related tasks. This article includes information (and links to information) on the following tasks:

Note: The instructions provided here use the term "need" throughout. If you have requested a language override on your site to replace need with opportunity, be aware that your site's terminology will differ from what you see in these instructions.

Adding a New Need

To add a new need from the Site Manager panel:

  1. Go to Volunteerism > Needs to open the need-management area.
    menu_volunteerism_needs.png
  2. Click Add New Need.
  3. Complete all applicable fields. Fields are identical to those that an agency manager would complete, with the following exceptions.
    Field Description
    Status Select Active to make the need public on the site. To create the need without making the it publicly visible, select Pending.
    Privacy Select Private to prevent the need from being publicly available on your site. See Making a Need Private for more information.
    Initiative

    If the need is to be part of an initiative, select the initiative from the dropdown. Note that you can choose only one initiative per need.

    Note: This option is only available for agency managers posting needs if you've changed the default setting in Site Settings.

    Agency Select the agency with which the need is to be associated. This is a required field.
    Tags Assign a tag to the need, if applicable. Tags can be used to group needs for a specific URL (where a URL points to all needs with a particular tag) or in custom reports.
    Comments Comments are for administrative use only; add comments as needed. Comments are not published anywhere on the front end of the site.
  1. Click Update Need to save your changes.

Making a Need Private

To make a need private, select Private as the Privacy option on the need-posting form.

option_privacy.png

Once you've saved a need as private, a Need Link appears in the top-right hand area of the page.

link_private_need.png

You can now copy this link to your clipboard to make available to individual volunteers. If this need is part of a private initiative, all members of the assigned user groups will be able to see it without using the private need link (since they already have access to the initiative.

This link can be shared with anyone; if you send it to a select group of volunteers and they share it with other potential volunteers, the need will be visible to anyone who has the link.

Note: For more information on private and public needs, see our article titled Private Initiatives and Private Needs.

Cloning a Need

The process for cloning a need from the Site Manager Panel is nearly identical to that of cloning a need as an agency manager. To clone a need:

  1. Go to Volunteerism > Needs to view a table of all needs on your site.
  2. Click on the title of the need that you want to clone. This opens the need-information form for that need.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the Clone Need button, located on the right-hand side of the page.
  4. Click Yes to confirm. An exact copy of the need is created. The only difference is that the title of the cloned need includes the word "copy" in parentheses.
  5. Make the needed changes, taking care to remove “(copy)” from the Title field.
  6. Click Create Need.

Viewing Expired Needs

The table of needs (accessed via Volunteerism > Needs) shows how many of your site’s needs have not expired.

To have the table of needs include expired needs, click the Show Expired Needs button. Expired needs are shown in light gray text, as shown here:

Once you've clicked Show Expired Needs, the button changes to read Hide Expired Needs. Click that button to return to the original view.

Note: Not to be confused with an expired need, and inactive need is one that has been manually deactivated, or deleted from the list of active needs. If a need expires but is not manually deactivated, it is displayed in gray text on the list of active needs. To view inactive needs only, select Inactive from the Status dropdown of the needs table.

Deactivating a Need

A need can "disappear" from the public site in one of two ways:

  • A "runs until," "happens on," or shift need expires at midnight after the associated date.
  • A Site Manager manually deactivates the need.

To manually deactivate a need:

  1. From your Site Manager Panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs to view a table of all needs on your site.
  2. Click on the title of the need that you want to deactivate. This opens the need-information form for that need.
  3. From the needs Status dropdown, select Inactive.
  4. Click Update Need.

Note: In lieu of selecting Inactive from the dropdown, you can click Delete Need, located on the right-hand side of the need information page.

Reactivating an Inactive Need

To reactivate a need:

  1. From your Site Manager Panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs to view a table of all needs on your site.
  2. From the dropdown under the Status column heading, select Inactive. The table now shows all inactive needs.
  3. Click on the title of the need that you want to reactivate.
  4. From the Status dropdown of the need-information page, select Active.
  5. Click Update Need.

Viewing Shifts, Hours, and Responses

If a need has recurring or custom shifts, if hours have been submitted for it, or if volunteers have responded to the need, you can view this data from the Site Manager Panel. To view shifts, hours, or responses:

  1. From your Site Manager Panel, go to Volunteerism > Needs to view a table of all needs on your site.
  2. Click on a need title. On the right side of your screen, you'll see links to any associated shifts, hours, or responses.
  3. Click the applicable link.
    Note: To view responses for shift needs, click Need Shifts, and then click the applicable number in the Responses column.

Once you've clicked a link, you can perform the following tasks relating to the data:

  • View Responses - Open a volunteer's profile; email the volunteer; email all volunteers who responded.
  • View Shifts - View respondents; export responses; add default hours, message respondents; edit hours; delete hours; delete shift.
  • View Hours - Open a volunteer's profile; email the volunteer; add anonymous hours; edit the volunteer's hours; delete the volunteer's hours.

Viewing the Current Day's Needs

To view the current day's needs (including individual shifts), you'll need to go to the Reports area of your site manager panel.

 Reports_Option.png

The Today's Shifts report, located in the Needs area of the reports, shows all needs and shifts occurring on the current day. You can select a different date as needed, and you can see how many slots for each need (if a number of volunteers has been specified) are still open.

Click here to learn more about the reports available on your Connect site.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk