Help Center
Follow

The User Filter

This article applies to all Connect site administrators.

The user filter is an extremely versatile tool for Connect site administrators. Once you understand how to use the filter, you'll be able to do these tasks and more:

  • Generate a list of user accounts that fit within certain parameters. (For example, only those users who are agency managers)
  • Export selected users, along with their full data, into a spreadsheet.
  • Perform various actions on groups of users, including inviting them to events, resetting their passwords, and activating and deactivating their accounts.

Click here for related articles and videos on the user filter.

Accessing the User Filter

The user filter is available in two different sections of the manager panel:

  • The user-management area (Volunteerism > Users)
  • The email blast (Communication > Email Blast)

This article focuses on the user-management area, but the filter instructions apply to the email blast as well.

The user filter has several components, labeled here and described below the image.

Item Description
An area to collapse/expand the filter, along with an indication of the number of users that have been filtered. (The default is the total number of users on the site, in this example, listed in the Results Page table. (In this example, seven users have been captured in the filter Date Added > on > 06/16/2016.)
An area to add new filters
A Submit button (for applying your filters) and a Cancel link (for clearing your filters).
An area to save a filtered list
The filtered list of users
A dropdown for applying a previously saved filter

Each of these components is addressed in the following sections.

Filter Options

As shown below, the filter dropdown lists the six primary categories for filtering. (Depending on your program’s level of customization, more categories may be listed.)

The "And/Any" Dropdown

When applying multiple filters, select the applicable term from the And/Any dropown.

  • Select And if you want all filter criteria to apply.
  • Select Any if you want to view users who match any of the filter criteria.

Filter Options

As shown in the dropdown above, the user filter has five main categories. When a category is selected, additional fields are displayed so that you can provide more specific information. In the example below, the Site Manager selected the User Data category, and then selected Date Addedon, and 06/16/2016.

The following table describes the main category options in the user filter.

Filter Category Description Examples
Disaster Response Looks at Disaster Response Module (DRM) data Presence of a disaster profile; willingness to travel; response to a DRM need
Events Looks at event RSVP data Attended or did not attend an event (based on RSVPs)
Service Learning Looks at Service Learning Module (SLM) data Role (professor, student, etc.)
User Data Looks primarily at user profile data User name, date added, ZIP code, status
Volunteer Looks at volunteer roles and responses Agency managers, response to a particular need, participation in an advanced event

Applying a Filter

To apply a single filter:

  1. Select a category from the filter dropdown.
  2. Narrow the category down using the additional fields provided.
  3. Click Submit.

The number of filtered users appears is displayed at the top of the filter area.

To apply additional filters:

  1. Click the plus (+) sign to the right of the Add New Filter heading. A new dropdown list is displayed.
  2. Select a category from the filter dropdown.
  3. Narrow the category down using the additional fields provided.
  4. Click Submit.

The number of filtered users appears is displayed at the top of the filter area

You can now take one or more of several actions:

Saving a Filter

To save a filter for future use:

  1. Once you've created and submitted the filter, type a title into the Save User Filter text box. 
  2. Click Save User Filter.
  3. Click Okay.

Once this screen is refreshed, you will see a Select Saved Filter dropdown. Click on it to see and select a previously saved filter.

To apply the saved filter, click Load.

Perform an Action

The user-management area includes a Select an Action option that you can use to perform bulk actions on user accounts.

Bulk-action options are described below

Action Description
Add/Remove Tags Add or remove user tags to a selected group of users. You will be prompted to enter or select the tag to be added or removed. Tags can be used later in custom reports and email blasts.
Export Users Select to export all selected user profiles to a spreadsheet. The spreadsheet will also include information about need responses, relevant dates (such as date last logged in), and answers to custom registration or advanced-event questions.
Deactivate Users Select to deactivate/delete all listed users. You will be prompted to confirm the deletion. User can be reactivated later if necessary; click here to learn more.
Send Password Reset Select to send an automatic password reset to all listed users. You will be prompted to confirm this action.
Activated Imported Users Activate the accounts of imported users. A notification will be sent to each user that includes a temporary password for first-time login.

To perform a bulk action:

  1. Apply one of more filters as needed.
  2. Select an action from the Select an Action dropdown.
  3. Follow any instructions provided to complete the action.

The Results List

As mentioned previously, the table in the bottom section of the user-management page displays the filtered list. If you have not run a filter, it lists all active user accounts in the system. 

Note: Click Table Filter on the right-hand side of your screen to control what columns are displayed here.

By default, the list includes the columns listed below.

Column Description
Type There are two types of users: managers are Site Managers and can access the Manager Panel; all other users (including agency managers) are users and cannot access the manager panel. To learn how to change a user's type, click here.
First Name Click a user's first name to view and edit their profile.
Last Name Click a user's last name to view and edit their profile. 
Email Click a user's email address to email a message to them through your Connect site.
Status Users will have one of four statuses: Active, Inactive, Imported, or Pending. Click here to learn how to change a user's status.
Options Click the Edit icon (a pencil) to view and edit the user's profile. Click the Assume icon (a box with an arrow) to assume the user's identity. You will then be logged in as the user and taken to the front end of the site.

Note: To re-assume your own identity, log out and log back in.

Related Articles and Videos

Here are some articles and videos you may find helpful:

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Kathy Oliver

    A user's email was incorrectly listed for our Day of Sharing. I have tried numerous times to edit this person's email, but it will not change after i submit the change. Can you help?

  • Avatar
    Nina Rogers

    Hi, Kathy,
    Please report this issue to our Customer Care team at support@galaxydigital.com. Someone will work with you to determine if this is a bug. Thanks!
    Nina

Powered by Zendesk