Help Center
Follow

Service Learning Module: Course Settings

You can set up the following restrictions for each course in the SLM:

Dashboard Access

This optional view is available when the student goes to the service-learning area of their Get Connected platform.

This dashboard shows how far each student in the course is toward completing their required volunteer hours. It can be a good tool for motivating students through competition with their classmates.

To make the dashboard available:

  1. From your admin panel, open the SLM module (Plugins > Service Learning), click View Courses for the applicable block, and click the applicable course title.
  2. Click the Settings tab.
  3. Under the Dashboard Access heading, select Students can access the dashboard.

    Note: The default is that students cannot access the dashboard. If you want to give them access, you will need to manually provided it here.

  4. Click Submit.

Registering for Service Opportunities

Once a student has joined the course, he or she will immediately be able to see any active needs that have been posted for that course. You have the option of allowing students to sign up for needs at that time, or you can set a "start date" for when students can respond.

To manage the setting that controls when students are able to respond to volunteer opportunities:

  1. From your admin panel, open the SLM module (Plugins > Service Learning), click View Courses for the applicable block, and click the applicable course title.
  2. Click the Settings tab.
  3. Under the Service Opportunity Registration heading, select Immediately (to allow students to sign up for opportunities immediately) or Starts On (to set a specific start date for signing up).
    If you select Starts On, you will be asked to specify a date.

    In this example, the admin has selected January 30, 2016. The need posting will include a message that sign-ups will open on January 30, as shown in the student's view below:

    The student will not be able to sign up before the date indicated.
  4. Click Submit to save your changes.

Method for Joining a Course

A student must "join" the course in the Get Connected SLM in order to view and respond to the volunteer opportunities listed for that course. There are two ways that a student can join a course, depending on your settings:

  • Join by clicking a link that is provided to them by you or an instructor
  • Access the course in the SLM and sign up

Typically, the second method is triggered when the instructor emails the student with instructions for accessing the SLM and locating the course.

Note: Because the first method (clicking a link) requires fewer steps and less room for error, we recommend using it.

To set up the method for joining a course:

  1. From your admin panel, open the SLM module (Plugins > Service Learning), click View Courses for the applicable block, and click the applicable course title.
  2. Click the Settings tab.
  3. Under the Student Join Method heading, select the desired method for the course.
    Option Description
    Join by responding to a request Student can join the course simply by locating it in Get Connected. If you select this option, you will be shown a section option, Student Join Approval, which allows you to specify whether students who join will need to be approved, or if they will automatically be added to the course.
    Join by clicking a link If you select this option, the Users tab will include a link that students can click in order to join the course. You can send this link yourself, or sent it to the professor to pass on to the students.
    Join by link or request This selection allows students to join using either of the above methods. A link will be provided under the Users tab, and you will also need to complete the Student Join Approval field described above.
      
  4. Click Submit to save your changes.

Hours-Tracking Page Title

A user can access their hours-tracking page by going to their course in the SLM, and clicking the link to track their hours. If desired, you can change the text on this tab. The default text is "Track Hours and Expenses," as shown below.

To change the text of this tab:

  1. From your admin panel, open the SLM module (Plugins > Service Learning), click View Courses for the applicable block, and click the applicable course title.
  2. Click the Settings tab.
  3. In the Tracking Page Title field, type the new tab text.
  4. Click Submit to save your changes.

Note: Because different professors may have different requirements and preferences, this change applies only for the course selected.

Choosing What Data Is Tracked

By default, Get Connected's SLM collects the following data from students when the log their hours via the hours-tracking form:

  • Hours volunteers
  • Miles traveled
  • Expenses incurred

As an admin, you have control over what data is collected, and you can "hide" the hours, miles and expenses fields as needed for each course.

To control what data is collected on the hours tracking form:

  1. From your admin panel, open the SLM module (Plugins > Service Learning), click View Courses for the applicable block, and click the applicable course title.
  2. Click the Settings tab.
  3. Select Yes or No as applicable from the Track HoursTrack Miles, and Track Expenses dropdown lists.

  4. Click Submit to save your changes. 

Course Terms and Conditions

If a professor wishes to have terms and conditions attached to a course, the admin must add the terms and conditions document from the SLM manager panel. While Get Connected will accept PDF files, Word documents, and image files, we recommend that terms and conditions be saved as PDFs.

If terms and conditions are uploaded, students will see them via a popup when they go to join the course. They must agree to the terms and conditions before joining the course.

To upload terms and conditions:

  1. From your admin panel, open the SLM module (Plugins > Service Learning), click View Courses for the applicable block, and click the applicable course title.
  2. Click the Settings tab.
  3. Under the Terms and Conditions heading, click Choose File.
  4. Browse to the file, select it, and click Open.
  5. Click Submit to save your changes.

Once you've uploaded a file, it appears as an icon next to the Terms and Conditions field.

This file can be deleted as necessary by clicking the Delete link below the icon.

Volunteer Reflection Questions

If a professor wishes to have students answer questions about their volunteer experience in the SLM, the admin can add those questions from the manager panel. Reflection questions are shown on the hours-tracking page, and students answer them after submitting their volunteer hours. Here's an example of a reflection question as it would appear for a student:

To add a student reflection question:

  1. From your admin panel, open the SLM module (Plugins > Service Learning), click View Courses for the applicable block, and click the applicable course title.
  2. Click the Settings tab.
  3. In the Reflection Questions field, type the reflection question.
  4. Click Add. The question appears below the field.

    Note: From this point, you can add more questions, clicking Add after each question. To delete a question, click the icon beside it.

  5. Click Submit to save your changes.

Important: If a reflection question is deleted after students have begun submitting reflections in response to it, their responses will be deleted as well.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk