Help Center
Follow

Service Learning Module: Blocks

This article is for Site Managers using Galaxy Digital's Service Learning Module (SLM) with a Get Connected or Campus Connect setup. For more information on the Service Learning Module, click here.

Get Connected uses the term "block" to refer an academic term such as a semester, trimester, quarter, etc. You must create a block in the SLM before you can add the courses that are part of that block.

This article covers the following topics:

Adding a Block

Previewing a Block

Deactivating a Block

Cloning a Block

To learn how to view block reports, click here.

Adding a Block

To add a block in in the Service Learning Module:

  1. Access the SLM from your admin panel by clicking Module > Service Learning.

    By default, you will see a table listing any existing blocks. Below is an example of a block list that includes two blocks: Fall 2016 and Spring 2017.
  2. Click Add New Block to open the form for adding a new block.

    Note: To edit an existing block, click on the block title.
  3. Complete the fields on the form.
    Field Description
    Status The default status is Pending. Select Active from the dropdown when you are ready for professors, students, and agency managers to access the courses for this block in the Service Learning Module.
    Title Enter the block title. (Examples: Spring 2016, May Term 2017, etc.)
    Date Start, Date End Select the block's start and end dates from the calendars provided.
    Description Enter additional information about the block, as needed. This description is for your use only; it does not appear anywhere on the public site.

    Note:  The start and end dates of the block should encompass the full academic period. Later, when entering individual courses for this block, you'll be able to specify the date range in which students can perform volunteer work and submit hours.

  4. Click Submit Block. Once submitted, the block will appear in the block list.

Adding Hours-Submission Questions

Site Managers can add up to two hours-submission questions for a block. These questions appear on the hours-submission form that students complete after completing volunteer hours.

To add hours-submission questions:

  1. From your Site Manager panel, go to Modules > Service Learning. You'll see a table of blocks that have been added to the module.
  2. Click on the title of a block to view a table of the block's courses.
  3. Next to the block title, located above the table, click Edit.
  4. At the top of the block form that is displayed, click Questions.
  5. Complete the fields provided. Click here to learn more about creating custom questions in your Get Connected or Campus Connect software.
  6. If the question is to be required, click the Required box.
  7. Click Submit to save your changes.

Note: For more information on the types of questions you can ask, click here.

Previewing a Block

Want to see what the block will look like on your public Get Connected site? Follow these steps:

  1. Go to Modules > Service Learning to see a list of the blocks on your site.
  2. Click the Edit icon (the pencil) for the block you wish to preview.
  3. On the Edit Block page, click the Preview Block button, located on the right-hand side of your screen.

The system will open a new tab that shows the block from the student's perspective.

 

Deactivating a Block

To deactivate a block:

  1. Go to Modules > Service Learning to see a list of the blocks on your site.
  2. Click the Edit icon (the pencil), for the block you wish to deactivate.
    icon_edit.png
  3. From the Status dropdown, select Inactive (or click the Delete Block button at the bottom of the form and click Yes to confirm the deletion).
    dropdown_status_inactive.png
  4. Click Yes to confirm the deletion.

Note: To reactivate a block, click the Show Inactive Blocks button above the listing of blocks and the Edit icon for the block you wish to reactivate. From there, you can change the Status back to Active. Click Submit Block to save the change.

Cloning a Block

To save time, you can clone an existing block rather than create a new one from scratch. This is a good idea if the block you're creating will have many of the same courses, professors, needs, etc., as the existing one. The clone allows you to create a brand-new block that includes all of the previous blocks courses, and then make minor changes/updates as needed.

Note: Courses, professors, and assigned needs are included in the clone. Cloned courses will have a status of "Pending" by default so they can be edited before going public. The clone does not include the students who were enrolled in the existing block's courses. 

To clone a block:

  1. From Modules > Service Learning, find the row of the block you wish to clone.
  2. Click the Clone Block icon in that row.
  3. Click Yes to confirm that you want to clone the block.
    The block form is displayed with the word "clone" in parentheses after the title. Note that the default status for the new block is "Pending."
  4. Update the title, description, and dates.
  5. When you're ready for the block to be available on the public site, change the Status to "Active" and click the Submit Block button.

Note: Because all courses in a cloned block have a status of "Pending," you will need to manually activate the applicable courses.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk