Help Center
Follow

Managing Your Volunteer Profile

Once you’ve opened your Connect account, start making the most out of it by updating your user profile. Your profile page contains, at minimum, your basic contact information.

This article covers how to view and edit your profile information. Your profile management area includes general profile information, hours tracking, your need responses, your team information, your user groups, and your inbox. It also includes an area for notification settings and deactivating your Connect account

Your Profile Menu

Your profile menu is located in the top right-hand corner of your Connect screen. To view it, click on your initials (or your profile picture, if you've already uploaded one).

profile_menu.png

Note: This menu is only available for logged-in volunteers.

The profile menu may have the following selections, which appear on the menu as applicable. (In other words, if you don't belong to any user groups, you won't have a My User Groups selection.)

Menu Item Description
View Profile The View Profile page includes your join date, total logged hours, volunteer resume, preferred causes and interests, fanned agencies, and activity feed. Note that you can click on any need or event listed in the activity feed to view it. In addition. you can edit your causes, interests, and fanned agency at any time from this page.
Edit Profile Select Edit Profile to edit your profile picture, basic information, password, and disaster settings. You can also opt out of system emails or deactivate your account on this page. Click here to learn more about editing your profile.
Track Hours Click this area to submit hours for volunteer work you've completed. You can also view your submitted hours on this page, as well as their statuses (pending, approved, denied, etc.). To learn more about logging hours, click here.
Volunteer Schedule View your scheduled volunteer opportunities. Only those opportunities associated with a particular date will appear in the calendar. To learn more about your volunteer schedule, click here.
Need Responses This area shows all of your past need responses. Use this area to edit your responses, add hours, re-visit the need posting, or view the agency profile page of the agency that posted the need. Expired (past) needs are shown in faded text.
My Teams The My Teams area is a place to manage the teams for which you are a team leader. If you are a member of a team but aren't the leader, you can use this area to email your team leader directly. Team leaders can view this article to learn more about managing their team.
My User Groups Use this area to view your user groups. You can also view user group reports and leave a group from this page. Click here to learn more about user groups.
Inbox Select Inbox to view your in-app messages. In-app messages may include system notifications and mail blasts from your site's manager. You can also view your in-app messages by clicking the bell icon to the left of the profile menu.
Logout Click to log out of your Connect site.

Updating Your Favorite Causes, Interests, and Agencies

Your Connect site can recommend volunteer opportunities based on your favorite causes, volunteer interests, and community organizations. It does this in several ways:

Recommends opportunities in the "Suggested Needs" area of your volunteer dashboard.

Sends a weekly email with information about new opportunities that have been posted in the past week. This email includes links to opportunities related to your preferred causes, interests, and agencies.

To enter or update your favorites:

  1. From your profile menu, select View Profile.
  2. Click the applicable Manage button on that page.
    button_manage_causes.png
  3. On the page that follows, click on an item to select it. Click on it again to deselect it. A selected item is indicated by a border with a heart icon in the to left hand corner. In the example below, "Arts and Culture" has been selected.
    box_selected_causes.png
  4. Click the Update button at the bottom of the page to save your changes. 

Note: When clicking on a new agency to fan, you will be taken to the agency's profile page to fan the agency.

Editing Your Profile Picture and Other Profile Information

From your profile page, click Edit Profile to edit the following types of information:

In addition, you can use this area for the following tasks:

Updating Your Profile Picture

To upload your picture (or replace a current picture), go to the Edit Profile area and click Upload Photo.
section_profile_picture.png

After selecting the photo, choose one of two options:

  • Crop the photo (if needed) and click Save Profile Photo.
  • If the photo does not need to be cropped (i.e., if you want the photo displayed as is), click Skip Crop and Save.

Note: Only image files (.jpg, .png, or .gif) are accepted. The image should be at least 540 x 540 pixels. If it is larger, Get Connected will adjust the image to fit the space.

To remove an uploaded photo, click remove. Click Yes to confirm the removal.

Updating Your Password

If you are logged into Get Connected and want to update your password:

  1. Go your Edit Profile area.
  2. Complete the fields under the Change Password heading, entering your current password once and your new password twice.
  3. Click Update Password.

Note: Passwords must be at least eight characters long and are not case-sensitive.

Note: Forgot your password? See Resetting Your Password to learn how to reset it. 

Updating Your Contact Information

To update your contact information in Get Connected:

  1. Go to your Edit Profile area.
  2. Under the Basic Information heading, edit the applicable fields. Most fields are not required by default, though your site manager may opt to require fields as needed.
  3. Click Update Basic Information

Updating Your Disaster Profile

If your Get Connected site includes the Disaster Response Module (DRM), you can provide important information for disaster response. The disaster response fields are part of your Edit Profile page. To access it:

  1. Go to your Edit Profile area.
  2. Complete the fields under the "Disaster Profile Information" heading. Fields are listed below.
    Field Description
    Emergency Contact Name First and last name of an emergency contact
    Emergency Contact Phone Phone number of emergency contact
    Blood Type Select your blood type from the dropdown
    Notify By Text? Select Yes to give permission to send you a text message regarding disaster-related needs.

    Note: If you select yes, be sure that your profile includes your mobile phone number.

    Willing to Travel? Select Yes to indicate that you are willing to travel in response to disaster needs.
    Edit Skills & Services (button) Click the button to edit your skills and services. In the list of items provided, mark each one that applies.
    Attending training? If you select Yes, select the agency with which you attended training.
  3. Click Update Disaster Information

Note: To indicate that you wish to be contacted in the event of a disaster, scroll to the Settings heading and turn on the option to be contacted. Remember to click Update Settings to save.

Opting Out of Notifications

Automated notifications are triggered by various actions in Get Connected; for example, if a volunteer responds to a need, two emails are sent automatically:

  • An email to the volunteer thanks them for responding to the need.
  • An email to the agency manager informs them that the volunteer has responded to the need.

If you do not want to receive notifications from Get Connected, you can opt out. To opt out of notifications:

  1. Go to your Edit Profile area.
  2. Scroll to the Settings heading at the bottom of the screen.
    section_settings.png
  3. Turn off the option to Receive system emails and messages.
  4. Click Update Settings.

Notes: You can also turn off notifications from your email. When you receive an automated notification, the email will include a link to unsubscribe.

Opting out of notifications does not prevent you from receiving the password reset email, should you need to reset your password.

Important: If you are an agency manager, you should not opt out of notifications unless there is another agency manager (either a primary or a secondary) who has taken responsibility of managing agency-manager emails.

Deactivating Your Account

When a user deactivates their profile, they will receive an email containing a link to their volunteer résumé so that they can have a record of their service.

To deactivate your Get Connected account:

  1. Go to your Edit Profile area.
  2. Scroll to the Deactivate Account heading.
  3. Click Deactivate Account.

Note: Contact your system administrator if you wish to reactivate your account.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk