Help Center
Follow

Managing Site Settings (1.0)

This article is for administrators using our legacy product (Get Connected 1.0), which we began phasing out in 2016. Administrators using our more current version 2.0 should click here for an equivalent article.

Site Settings is perhaps the most important part of the manager panel. These settings affect how everyone—admins, agency managers, and users—experiences and uses the entire site.

Topics covered in this article:

Site Information and API Details

Navigation Bar Content

Approvals

Volunteers

Events

States and Supported Counties 

Site Information and API Details

The Site Settings page displays the following information about your site:

Domain Name — The URL or web address for your Get Connected system.

Coming Soon Mode — Mark this box to shut down the site. Users will be prevented from entering your Get Connected system. A user who tries to access the site will be directed to a page that says, “We’ll be back soon!”

Site Title — Your site’s title will appear in certain notification messages and also in the footer of every page of the site.

Default Manager Account — The dropdown lists all of your site managers. Select the name of the person who is the primary contact for your site.

Email Notification ‘From’ Address — This email address appears as the “return address” for most automatic notifications sent from your site.

Important: The “no-reply” part of this email helps prevent your notifications from being blocked as spam. We recommend not changing the default. If you do change it, be aware that some intended recipients may not get their notifications.

Email Notification ‘From’ Name — This name appears in the “return address” field in email systems that display a name rather than an address.

API Key and Documentation — The API (application-programming interface) allows for software integration between companies. Contact us for more information.

Important: Because your key provides access to all data on your domain, do not give it out. Guard it wisely.

Navigation Bar Content

The Navigation section of Site Settings gives you some control over the links that appear on the Navigation Bar of Get Connected’s landing page.

Note: To change the About, My Profile, Agencies, Needs, or Events default headings, contact us.

Described below are the items under Navigation in Site Settings.

Blog — Displays the word “Blog” on the navigation bar and directs users to your blog.

eCard — Displays the word “eCard” on the navigation bar and directs users to the eCard feature.

Groups — Displays the word “Groups” on the navigation bar and directs users to a page showing public groups, the user’s groups, and a form for creating a new group.

Invite — Displays fields for email addresses and a message for anyone you’d like to invite to join Get Connected.

Disaster Response — (DRM sites only) Displays a link to the Disaster Response Module; you can change the name that is displayed.

Advanced Event — (AEM sites only) Displays a link to a list of all advanced events; you can change the name that is displayed. 

Service Learning — (SLM sites only) – Displays a link to the Service Learning Module; you can change the name that is displayed.

Note: The Disaster Response, Advanced Event, and Service Learning options are available on only those sites that have purchased these modules.

Approvals

In Site Settings, you can choose whether changes to the site require your approval before being made public.

Approving Changes by Agencies

As a site manager, you can decide if approval will be required when the following items as they are added by agency managers to your Get Connected site:

Site updates — any updates to an agency page

Needs — any need

Events — any event submitted by an agency (does not include events submitted by an admin or an individual user)

New agencies — any agency that has just been added to the site

You can also specify whether you want to be notified by email if there are any items pending approval.

Notes: 
1. Notices of pending items go out at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time.
2. If an item needs to be approved, a star is displayed on the manager panel next to the appropriate shortcut button. For example, if an agency has been added, there will be a star on the Manage Agencies button.

 

Approving Volunteer Hours

You can decide how many steps are involved from when a volunteer enters hours to when an agency manager can approve them. Get Connected offers three options:

Volunteers must submit hours for approval — When entering hours, a volunteer must verify the information entered before submitting it for approval. This option offers the volunteer the opportunity to edit her entries before finally submitting them.

Hours logged will automatically be submitted for approval — The volunteer simply submits the hours, without any extra verification or editing.

Note: This is our recommended approach.

Hours logged will be automatically approved — The agency manager does not have to approve hours. In fact, the agency manager may never see the logged hours except when viewing the agency’s Stats tab.

Volunteers

Additional settings that relate to volunteer signups and reporting are listed below.

Value of a Volunteer Hour — By default, Get Connected applies the accepted state rate. To change this rate, enter a new one here.

Team Registration Email Required — This setting relates to when someone responds to a need as a team. You have two options here:

  • Yes — To sign up a team, a user must provide the names and email addresses of all team members.
  • No — The user signing up the team only has to provide the number of people on the team. No names or email addresses are required.

    Note: A selection of No makes sign-up easier for team leaders (since they don’t need to know the names and email addresses of each member), but a selection of Yes (recommended) makes it easier for you to collect data and track responses to the various needs in your community. If you select No, unnamed team members will show up in your records as “Name Needed.”

     

Allow Individual Hours — Individual hours are those hours performed by a volunteer on her own—not as a response to a need posted in Get Connected. Individual hours are not required to be verified, but they do show up on the volunteer resume.

  • Yes — Users can enter volunteer hours for a need not posted in Get Connected
  • No — A need must be posted in Get Connected, and the user must have responded to it, in order to enter his hours.

Auto send Need response survey — Mark this box to have a short survey sent to a user 72 hours after he or she has responded to a need. The survey asks the volunteer about their experience volunteering with the agency.

Events

In most cases, an agency manager will post agency events in Get Connected. If you mark the Allow Event Contributors box, any user will be able to post an event. All user-posted events are pending approval by a site admin.

Note: A user-posted event cannot be associated with an agency, cannot use RSVPs, and cannot be edited by the user once posted.

States and Supported Counties

Take time to select your state and the counties that will be served using Get Connected. This information relates to volunteers’ ability to run searches by county.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk