Help Center
Follow

Your Get Connected Blog (1.0)

This article is for administrators using our legacy product (Get Connected 1.0), which we began phasing out in 2015. Click here to learn about blogging in our more current version.

Blog Location and Access

Posting to the Blog

Approving a Blog Post

Deleting a Blog Post

Displaying the Blog on your Get Connected Home Page

Your Get Connected Blog

The blog is a standard feature of your Get Connected program. To access your site’s blog management tools, click the Content tab and select Blog. The table shows all blog posts with their related IDs, domain names, dates added, dates gone live, and statuses.

Blog Location and Access

By default, your site blog’s URL is as follows:

[Your Get Connected site URL]/blog/

Users will typically access your blog in one of three ways:

  • By entering the above URL into their browser
  • By clicking a link you provide via email or social media
  • By clicking the Blog link in your Get Connected navigation bar
  • By seeing it in a zone on your About page

Note: To add the Blog link to your site’s navigation bar, go to Site Settings and mark the Display Blog Navigation Link box (under the Navigation heading). Remember to click Submit Changes.

Posting to the Blog

Two user types can post to the blog: site managers (administrators), and site contributors. Admins can post from either the front end or the back end of the site, while contributors can post from the front end the site only.

From the Admin Panel

To post from the back end of the site:

  1. From the Manager panel, go to Content > Blog and click Add New Post.
  2. Complete the fields on the form provided.
    • Publish Date – by default, is the current day’s date; however, you can change it as needed, using the format YYYY-MM-DD.
    • Post Title – Enter a title for your post.
    • By – Enter the name of the blog author.
    • Excerpt – Type what you would like to have shown as the “preview” shown when the blog is visible in a zone.
    • Post Body – Type the text of the post. Not that you can include images, links, special formatting, etc., since you are working in the Text Editor.
    • Allow User Comments – This box is marked by default; clear it if you do not want to allow user comments for the post.
  3. Click either Save as Draft (to save but not post) or Publish (to save and post) in order to save your work.

From the Front End

Both a site manager and a site contributor can post to the blog from the front end of the site. To access the blog platform from the front end of the site:

  1. Click Blog in the navigation bar. In addition to the blog post itself, the blog screen includes the following buttons:

    • List Existing Posts – click to list all active(?) posts by title(?)
    • Create New Post – click to create a new post.
    • Search – To find all posts that include a particular term, enter the term and click Search.

Note: Of the three features listed here, only the Search feature is available to all users. The List Existing Posts and Create New Post buttons appear for site administrators and site contributors only.

  1. Click Create New Post.
  2. Complete the fields shown; see page 33 for field descriptions.
  3. Click Submit.

All entries posted from the front end, whether by an admin or a contributor, must be reviewed and approved by an admin before it will be posted onto the site.

Approving a Blog Post

As an admin, you will receive an automated notification whenever a new blog post has been submitted and needs to be approved.

You approve a blog post by publishing it. You can publish to your site as well as to social media.

By default, all entries posted from the front end are pending approval. To approve a blog post:

  1. From the Manager panel, go to Content > Blog. You’ll see in the table which blog posts are pending and which are published.
  2. Click the title of the post to review.
  3. Click the applicable buttons in the right-hand column.
    • Click Publish to post onto your Get Connected site.
    • Click Notify members via email about new post to let all site users know that a blog post has been published.

Note: The title of the automatic notification template is “Blog Post Notice.” See page 45 for information on the automatic notification templates.

  • Click the applicable buttons for posting to Facebook or Twitter as desired. Note that you must be logged in to the social media outlet to which you want to post.

Note: To save but not approve the post, click Save as Draft.

Deleting a Blog Post

Only an admin can delete a blog post. To delete a blog post from your site:

  1. From the Manager panel, go to Content > Blog. You’ll see in the table which blog posts are pending and which are published.
  2. Click the title of the post to delete.
  3. Click Delete Post, located to the left of the Publish

Note: Once a blog post is deleted, it cannot be recovered.

Displaying the Blog on the Site’s Main Page

To display the post on the About page, you’ll need to go to Content > Zones and establish one of the editable zones as a Blog zone type. (See Editing a Zone for step-by-step instructions on editing a zone type.)

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk