Help Center
Follow

Overriding the Return Address on Notifications and Email Blasts

This article is geared toward Connect site managers who wish to use an email other than no-reply@galaxydigital.com as their return address for emails generated on their site. Note that we do not recommend overriding this information; click here to learn more.

By default, emails being sent from your Connect site will display a return address of no-reply@galaxydigital.com, as shown in this example of notification message as received by a volunteer.

email_from_name_galaxy_digital.png

If you wish to add or override the email "from" name, or if you wish to override the default email address, the "from" name," or both, you can do either from your site settings.

Note: If you are overriding the email address, that address will need to be approved by Amazon Web Services (Galaxy Digital's email service provider for all Connect sites) before it can be used. For more information, see Overriding the Default Email Address below.

Adding an Email "From" Name

By default, there is no "from" name" on notifications generated from your site; only the return email address will appear, as shown below. (Compare this to the image to the right of it, which has a "from" of "Galaxy Digital."

No "From" Name Entered "From" Name of "Galaxy Digital"
email_no_from_name.png email_from_name_galaxy_digital.png

To add a "from" name to your site's notifications:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Settings > Main Settings.
  2. Under the Site Information heading, scroll to the Email From Name field.
    field_email_from_name.png
  3. Type a name (typically this would be your organization's name) into the Email From Name field.
  4. Click Update Settings.

Overriding the Default Email Address

By default, all notifications generated for any Connect site originate at no-reply@galaxydigital.com. As a result, no-reply@galaxydigital.com is displayed by default as the return email address. If you wish to override that email address with one associated with your organization, you can; however, you should be aware that:

  • Because the notifications are still being generated from no-reply@galaxydigital.com, the new email address will appear to "mask" it. This "masking" can be picked up by spam filters, which could cause notifications to be flagged as spam.
  • A new return email address must be verified by Amazon Web Services, which provides the email service for all Connect notifications (in other words, for all notifications generated on any Connect site).

How Do I Know If My Address Has Been Verified?

The steps for overriding the default email address differ, depending on whether the new address has previously been verified by Amazon Web Services. To learn whether the address you're currently using has been verified:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Settings > Main Settings.
  2. Under the Site Information heading, scroll to the Email From Address field. A green check mark to the right of the email address indicates that the address has already been verified by Amazon Web Services.
    field_email_from_address.png

If your email address has not been verified, click here for further instructions. If you want to replace the existing email address with one that has already been verified, click here. If you want to use a new address with one that hasn't been verified (or if you're not sure), click here to replace it with an address that has not been verified, or if you're not sure.

Using a Verified Email Address

To override the default return email address of no-reply@galaxydigital.com with an email address that has previously been verified by Amazon Web Services:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Settings > Main Settings.
  2. Under the Site Information heading, scroll to the Email From Address field.
    field_email_from_address.png
  3. Replace the default address with one of your choosing. From this point you should take one of the following actions
  4. Scroll down and click Update SettingsDo not click the red bar below the address.

If the email address has previously been verified for email delivery by Amazon Web Services, the page will update successfully. If it hasn't been previously verified, you'll get an error message and instructions for to begin the process for verification. See Using an Address That Has Not Been Verified, below.

Using an Address That Has Not Been Verified

To use an email address that has not been verified:

  1. From your site manager panel, go to Settings > Main Settings.
  2. Under the Site Information heading, scroll to the Email From Address field.
  3. If applicable, replace the default address with the new one.
  4. Click the red bar beneath the email address.
  5. In the Validate Email From Address window that opens, enter your email address again.
  6. Click Submit.

Amazon Web Services will soon send a message to the email address you provided. Once you've received that message, click the validation link provided in the email. Shortly after the email is verified (typically within several minutes), your site settings will reflect the change and your system will begin sending emails from that address within one hour.

Note: The validation link will expire 24 hours after the original verification request.

Verification Status and Email Blasts

When using the email blast tool (accessed at Communication > Email Blast), you are required to enter a return address.

field_from_email_blast.png

If the email address you enter has not been verified by Amazon Web Services, you'll be informed via an error message.

Note: You will not be able to send the email blast without a verified return address. If you cannot wait for the address to be verified, you should use a previously verified address such as no-reply@galaxydigital.com.

Take the following steps to verify the email address from the email blast:

  1. Click the red bar beneath the email field.
  2. In the Validate Email From Address window that opens, enter your email address again.
  3. Click Submit.

Amazon Web Services will soon send a message to the email address you provided. Once you've received that message, click the validation link provided in the email. Shortly after the email is verified (typically within several minutes), your site settings will reflect the change and your system will begin sending emails from that address within one hour.

Note: The validation link will expire 24 hours after the original verification request.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk