If you are in a data-sharing agreement with one or more other sites using the Galaxy Link (hub-portal relationship), you'll want to be aware of how initiatives and user groups are shared in cross-domain situations.
Note: Throughout this article, we refer to the site that is sharing data as the "hub" and the site that is receiving data as the "portal."
Because initiatives are available across domains, volunteers on a portal will be able to see initiatives, as long as the initiatives aren't private and as long as both the portal and the hub agree that the initiative can be seen on the portal. (In other words, as long as no one has manually excluded the initiative from the volunteer view). Here are some details:
Initiative banner - A portal user viewing a hub need within a hub initiative will be able to see the initiative banner and description, just as they appear on the hub.
Initiative questions - If the hub site manager has added custom questions to an initiative, the portal user responding to an initiative need will be able to respond to those question on the need-response form.
Searching/Filtering - A portal user will be able to see the hub initiatives(s) in their search/filter dropdown on the needs page.
Initiative data - When a portal volunteer responds to a hub need with a hub initiative, the initiative data is recorded. This means that, when an admin views need responses, the initiative will will be specified as applicable in that data.
The portal site manager has limited ability to edit initiative-related data.
- Hub managers cannot edit portal initiatives, and portal managers cannot edit hub initiatives.
- A portal manager cannot add a hub initiative to any need, regardless of whether the need originated on the hub or the portal; they can only add portal initiatives to need (or edit a hub initiative that has already been assigned).
- A portal initiative can be added to a hub need; however, the hub manager must be the one to assign the initiative, since the need lives on the hub. If a portal manager wants a portal initiative added to a hub need, they must contact the hub manager, who can then make that change.
Because the portal manager cannot edit any other aspect of a hub need, they do not have the ability to make the need private.
Because user groups flow across domains, you will be able to see user group data when viewing applicable information for users, responses, and hours. Here are some details:
- If a user has a user group and they respond to a hub need, then the response will record their user group.
- If a portal user with a user group responds to a hub need, the portal user group will appear in the responses and hours tables.
The portal site manager has limited ability to edit user-group related data.
- Editing another site's user groups: A site manager cannot edit a user group that belongs to another site. For example, a hub manager cannot edit a portal's user group.
- Assigning initiatives to user groups: A site manager cannot assign one of its initiatives to a user group from another site. For example, when selecting "Show only to user groups" for an initiative, a hub manager cannot select a portal's user group.
- Assigning user groups to another site's users: A site manager assign one of its user groups to a user from another site. For example, a hub manager add a portal member to a hub user group.