As a Connect site manager, you can make needs privately available to both individual volunteers and user groups. This capability is particularly useful for corporate volunteering, as you can give companies and other organizations exclusive access to respond to certain needs.
This article covers the following topics:
- Marking a Need as Private
- The Volunteer View of Private Needs
- Sharing Private Needs as a Site Manager
- Sharing Private Needs as a Volunteer
This article also address initiatives and how version 2.12 initiatives work differently from in previous versions.
As a site manager, you can mark a need as private. While public needs can be viewed by anyone, a private need can only be accessed in the following ways:
- A volunteer can click on a unique link to the private need.
- If the need has been assigned to a user group, members of that user group will be able to see it listed with all other needs.
Note: Needs are public by default. If you do not want a need to be published when posted, set your approval settings so that needs are not auto-approved. Agency managers do have the option of marking a need private when they create it; see below.
Both site managers and agency managers have the ability to mark a need private when creating or editing it.
To submit a need as private:
- Access the need posting form (for site managers, by going to Volunteerism > Needs; for agency managers, by going to the Needs section of their agency management area).
- Scroll down to the Privacy field and select Private.
- Click Create Need or Update Need as applicable.
Private needs are indicated by a "lock" icon in the needs listing on your site manager panel:
The agency manager will see a similar "lock" icon in their agency manager view of need:
As explained below, volunteers who have private access to a need will also see the "lock" icon.
To make multiple needs private in bulk:
- Go to Volunteerism > Needs.
- Mark the check boxes to the left of the needs that you wish to make private. (Click image for a larger view.)
- From the Actions for Selected Needs dropdown near the top of the page, select Make Private. (Click image for a larger view.)
- Click the red Make Needs Private button that appears.
- Once the needs have been made private, the "lock" icon will appear to reflect their new status.
Note: The Actions for Selected Needs tool can also be used for other bulk actions, including making private needs public. To learn more see the article titled Managing Needs in Bulk.
A private need can be seen by up to two groups, potentially:
- If the need has been assigned to a user group, then the user group members will be able to see the need on your site.
- If the need has not been assigned to a user group, volunteers will only be able to access it if they've been given the private link to the need.
In the volunteer view, private needs are indicated by a "lock" icon:
Neither the need nor the icon is visible to volunteers who do not have access to the need. If a volunteer does not have access, they will not be able to search for view, or respond to the need. A user with access to the private need, however, can search for, view, and respond to it.
Note: If you are logged in as a site manager, you will be able to see all private needs, including those that are in private initiatives. Even if you do not belong to the initiative's user group, you will still be able to see the private needs.
Once you have submitted the need with the privacy designation, a private Need Link appears at the top of the page.
You can now share this link with any volunteer.
Note: Once a volunteer has this link, they can share it with anyone.
Volunteers have the option to share public needs on social media by clicking a "share" icon for the need. This option is not available for private needs. In addition, when a volunteer responds to a public need, they are typically given the option to share the news of their response via social media. This option is also not available for private needs.
However, a volunteer can access the private need link from their browser's address bar and forward it as desired. If the need does not belong to a private initiative, anyone with the link can view it.
An initiative is a grouping of needs on your Connect platform under a common "umbrella"--for example, volunteer opportunities that are all part of an event. Initiatives can be set up for needs associated with a specific event (such as a Day of Caring), a specific time of year (such as the holidays), or a specific group of people (such as a corporation).
Prior to Connect version 2.12, released to all Galaxy Digital clients in February 2018, initiatives could be privately assigned to user groups. With version 2.12, this is no longer the case. Needs can now be assigned to user groups and can be either public or private. Needs can also be added to initiatives, but the initiatives themselves cannot be privately assigned to a user group.