Help Center
Follow

User Groups for Volunteers

This article is for volunteers. It explains how to view your user groups, how to respond to a need as part of a user group, and how to access and view your user group report, and how to leave a user group. For more information on user groups, check our user group FAQs for volunteers.

Accessing User Group Information

If you belong to a user group, you'll have a My User Groups option in your profile dropdown.

dropdown_my_user_groups.png

This option leads to your My User Groups Table, which includes the following information and options:

  • Your user group(s) name and date(s) created

    Note: User groups are created by your site's manager; volunteers cannot create a user group on their own. If you wish to have a new user group started, you must contact your site manager.

  • Ability to copy your user group's reporting link to their clipboard
  • The option to leave a user group

table_user_groups.png

Responding to a Need

When you respond to a need, you have the option of associating your response (and any subsequent hours submitted for that need) with a user group.

dropdown_user_group.png

This field is not required; if you do not wish to associate your response with a user group, you do not have to make a selection.

Responding to a Need as a Team Leader

If you create a team, you may have the option of selecting a user group for each team member you add. In order to select a user group for someone else, they must share a user group with you.

Viewing Your User Group Report

The User Group Report uses attractive, user-friendly graphics to convey the following information for the entire user group for the past six months:

  • Total number of volunteer hours submitted
  • Overall impact value
  • Number of members
  • Total number of needs to which the group responded
  • Number of volunteer hours by month
  • Number of need responses by month
  • Number of need responses by primary interest of the need

    Note: Primary interest is determined by the agency manager when they post the need.

  • List of needs to which the group responded
  • List of agencies with which the need responses are associated

If the user group has been assigned one or more initiative, the report includes an option to view all of the above data by initiative.

To access it:

  1. Log in and select My User Groups from your profile dropdown.
  2. In the My User Groups area that is displayed, click the applicable Copy button in the Reporting Link column.
    copy_button.png
    This action saves the report URL to your clipboard.
  3. Open a new tab and copy the report URL into the address bar.
  4. Press Enter.

Once you're viewing the report, you can select an initiative from the Filter by Initiative dropdown in order to view stats by initiative. You can also click the Export as PDF button on the report to generate a PDF of it.

Leaving a User Group

To leave a user group:

  1. Log in and select My User Groups from your profile dropdown.
  2. In the My User Groups area that is displayed, click the applicable X in the Options column (shown in image above).
  3. Click Yes to confirm that you want to leave the user group.

Note: If you leave a user group that has access to private needs or initiatives, you may no longer have access to those needs and initiatives.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk